knk is deeply invested in the  religious publishing sector, among others, as our software functionality and professional expertise lends itself to mission-based publishers. For 2024, we have updated again our guide to religious book awards in the USA for creators of faith-based books and media.

knk are members of the Association of Catholic Publishers (ACP), the Evangelical Christian Publishers Association (ECPA), and the Protestant Church-Owned Publishers Association (PCPA).


Christian Religious Book Awards 


AAR Book Awards 

The American Academy of Religion (AAR) is dedicated to the academic study of religion and offers Awards for the best in-depth reporting on religion through the AAR Journalism Awards. Awards are given in two categories: Best In-Depth Newswriting and Best In-Depth Multimedia Journalism.


ACP Excellence in Publishing Awards 

Awarded by the Association of Catholic Publishers, its First, Second and Third place winners are awarded to publishers and authors of the best Catholic content, now in sixteen categories. Additionally, the Resource of The Year Award is determined by a separate panel of judges from among the sixteen first-place winners.


Carol Awards 

The American Christian Fiction Writers (ACFW) provides awards in eleven categories of Christian fiction to authors who are published through most traditional and independent channels in the previous calendar year. The ACFW’s mission is to inspire writers in the creative process, learn the craft and find the right audience. Their Annual Conference is planned for September 2024 in New Orleans.


Catholic Media Awards

The Catholic Media Awards honor outstanding achievements in Catholic journalism, communications, and other forms of media. The awards aim to honor the efforts of individuals and organizations that excel in portraying Catholic teachings and values. The Catholic Media Awards accepts work completed by its members in the previous calendar year. Awards will be presented at the Catholic Media Conference, June 18-21, 2024, in Atlanta, and announced in The Catholic Journalist and on the CMA website and social media.


Christian Author Awards

The Christian Author Awards recognizes preeminent new Christian authors who are independently published. Sponsored by Xulon Press, the registration deadline is in December.


Christian Book Award® program

The Christian Book Award® program recognizes the highest quality in Christian books and Bibles and is among the oldest and most prestigious awards program in the religious publishing industry. Presented annually to the finest in Christian publishing since 1978, the Christian Book Award® program honors the “Best of the Year” in 12 categories. The submission period is in September and the winner in each category is announced at the ECPA Leadership Summit each spring.


Christian Indie Awards 

Sponsored by the Christian Indie Publishing Association (CIPA), this award seeks to promote small presses and independent author. Suitable for self-publishing authors, or those working with small publishers, it is awarded by Christian retailers and readers in fourteen categories: General Fiction, Historical Fiction, Romance, Bible Study/Theology, Biography/Memoir, Christian Education, Christian Living, Devotional, Relationships/Family, Children 4 through 8, Children 8 through 12, Gift Books, Young Adult, and eBooks. The 2024 Christian Indie Awards are now closed. The winners will be announced at The Well Conference on April 27, 2024.


Christianity Today Book Awards 

Each year, Christianity Today  magazine honors books of interest to the Christian community. The main categories include Apologetics/Evangelism, Biblical Studies, Children & Youth, Christian Living/Discipleship, the Church/Pastoral Leadership, Culture and the Arts, Fiction, History/Biography, Missions/The Global Church, Politics and Public Life, Spiritual Formation, and Theology/Ethics. Submissions are evaluated by “a diverse panel of scholars, pastors, and other informed readers.”


The Christy Award® program

ECPA presents The Christy Award® each year to honor the best in Christian fiction, recognizing the value and impact of the novel of faith in contemporary culture.  Awarded in nine fiction categories, plus the Amplify Award and Book of the Year, submissions are accepted every March and winners are announced each fall at The Christy Award® Gala.


Conference on Christianity and Literature

The Conference on Christianity and Literature recognizes literary achievement in the form of awards given for lifetime achievement, best book in the field, the Margaret Patterson Hannay Service Award, and the Lionel Basney Award for the best article published each year in Christianity & Literature.


Non-Christian Religious Book Awards


The Edward Lewis Wallant Award

The Edward Lewis Wallant Award is one of the oldest and most prestigious Jewish literary awards in the United States. The annual award recognizes a Jewish writer, preferably unrecognized, whose published work of fiction is deemed to have significance for American Jews.


Illumination Book Awards

Illumination Award categories range from Bible Study and Devotional to family-oriented subjects like education and children’s picture books and are open to all Christian-themed books written in English. As most book award contests recognize only titles released during the previous calendar year or two, they offer the Enduring Light medals to reward exemplary Christian-themed books published since the year 2000.


Lions Roar Organization offers several annual awards for excellence in Buddhist literature. They include The Outstanding Women in Buddhism Awards and The Grawemeyer Religion Award, among others. Bukkyo Dendo Kyokai also offers cultural awards for the promotion of Buddhism.


MESA (Middle East Studies Association) Book Awards

MESA offers four annual book awards, among which is The Nikki Keddie Book Award awarded for works of exceptional scholarship in religion.


Muslim Bookstagram Awards

Hosted by, the awards celebrate Muslim voices in publishing, from mainstream publishers, Islamic publishers, and self-published authors. The MBRA takes in nominations from other readers and features a panel of Muslimah reviewers from Bookstagram.  Winners are announced on


National Jewish Book Awards 

Inaugurated in 1950, the Awards are intended to recognize authors, and encourage reading, of outstanding English-language books of Jewish interest. Awards are presented in over eighteen categories, and the winning authors are celebrated at an annual gala in the year following the publication of the books under consideration.


SSSR Distinguished Book Award

This award recognizes the most outstanding book published by a member of the SSSR (Society for The Scientific Study of Religion), or members within the past two years. Only scholarly monographs are considered for this award, and books are judged on the quality of scholarship, importance to the field, and relevance to society at large.


Top Shelf Book Cover Awards
Presented by ECPA, the Top Shelf Book Cover Awards honors the year’s best book designs in Christian publishing in four categories: Non-Fiction, Fiction, Children’s, and Bibles. Submissions are accepted from April through August and winners are presented each year at the annual ECPA PubU event.